What are the 7 sin on Nowruz?

What are the 7 sin on Nowruz?

These elements are Sabzeh (wheatgrass grown in a dish), Samanu (sweet pudding made from wheat germ), Senjed (sweet dry fruit of the lotus tree), Serkeh (Persian vinegar), Seeb (apple), Seer (garlic) and Somaq (sumac).

What goes on a Haft Sin table?

In addition to these required pieces, there are other symbolic items that are normally placed on the haft-sin table. These include a mirror, candlesticks and candles, goldfish, hyacinth flowers, a Persian poetry book, painted eggs, coins, and an array of decadent Persian pastries.

What is Sofreh Haft Sin?

HAFT SIN, denoting ‘seven items beginning with the letter sin (S)’, is one of the components of the rituals of the New Year’s Day festival (see NOWRUZ) observed by most Iranians (Figure 1). The items are traditionally displayed on the Sofra-ye haft sin (Massé, Croyances, pp. 156-57; Enjavi, I, pp. 87-105; Honari, pp.

What does Nowruz signify?

Nowruz—which means “new day”—is a holiday marking the arrival of spring and the first day of the year in Iran, whose solar calendar begins with the vernal equinox. Nowruz has been celebrated in Iran and the Persian diaspora for more than 3,000 years.